James Salter to Receive 2012 PEN/Malamud Award for short fiction

James Salter has won the PEN/Malamud Award 2012 for his contribution to short fiction. The following titles are on order at Mullen Library:

  • Burning the Days
  • Light Years
  • The Hunters
  • Gods of Tin: the Flying Years
  • Last Night: Stories
  • Sport and a Pastime
  • Life is Meals
  • Memorial Days: the Selected Letters of James Salter and Robert Phelps
  • Dusk and Other Stories

Official statement.

PEN Literary Awards for 2011

PEN American Center announced its 2011 awards for literature:

PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize ($25,000)
To a fiction writer whose debut work, published in 2010, represents distinguished literary achievement and suggests great promise.

PEN/E. O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award ($10,000)
For a book of literary nonfiction on the subject of the physical and biological sciences published in 2010.

PEN/W. G. Sebald Award for a Fiction Writer in Mid-Career ($10,000)
To an author who has published at least three significant works of literary fiction.

PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction ($10,000)
For a distinguished book of general nonfiction possessing notable literary merit and critical perspective published in 2009 or 2010.

PEN/Laura Pels Foundation Award for an American Playwright in Mid-Career and a Master American Dramatist ($7,500)
A pair of awards, which honor: a Master American Dramatist and an American Playwright in Mid-Career.

PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay ($5,000)
For a book of essays published in 2010 that exemplifies the dignity and esteem of the essay form.

PEN/ESPN Award for Literary Sports Writing ($5,000)
For a nonfiction book on the subject of sports published in 2010.

PEN/ESPN Lifetime Achievement Award for Sports Writing ($5,000)
To a writer whose body of work represents an exceptional contribution to the field of literary sports writing.

PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography ($5,000)
For a distinguished biography published in 2010.

PEN/Joyce Osterweil Award for Poetry ($5,000)
To an emerging American poet of any age showing promise of further literary achievement.

PEN/Nora Magid Award ($5,000)
To a magazine editor whose high literary standards and taste have contributed significantly to the excellence of the publication he or she edits.

PEN Open Book Awards ($5,000)
For an exceptional work of literature by a writer of color published in 2010.

PEN/Phyllis Naylor Working Writer Fellowship ($5,000)

To a writer of children’s or young adult fiction in financial need, who has published at least two books.

PEN Award for Poetry in Translation ($3,000)
For a book-length translation of poetry into English published in 2010.

PEN Translation Prize ($3,000)
For a book-length translation of prose into English published in 2010.

Translation Fund Grants ($3,000)
To support the translation of book-length works that have not previously appeared in English.

PEN Emerging Writers Awards ($1,660)
One award each to an up-and-coming fiction writer, nonfiction writer, and poet who show exceptional talent but who have yet to publish book-length works.