Posts with the tag: databases

New Gale Database: Political Extremism and Radicalism

Catholic University Libraries has acquired a number of databases from Gale Cengage on social, political, historical, and health topics. Gale Primary Sources consist of large collections divided into case studies on critical, contemporary issues, each of which is backed with an accessible collection of hand-picked primary sources. In addition, each case study contains a bibliography and relevant discussion questions. All curated content has been chosen by an international expert who has reviewed the case studies for accuracy and teachability.

Political extremism has been on the rise across the world for many years. One particular collection the libraries have acquired is Political Extremism and Radicalism:

Liberal democracies of North America, Europe, and Australasia throughout the twentieth century have experienced a variety of forms of extremism and radicalism that have shaped mainstream political thinking as well as cultural norms. To comprehend modern governmental and societal systems researchers must understand the environment that created them, their origins, and their adversaries. (web site)

This series provides insight into fringe groups–the right and the left of the political spectrum–through rare, primary sources. Scholars and students will find these sources valuable in understanding the period and context when the documents were created. Scholars and students can answer questions on philosophical, social, political, and economic ideologies and address such issues “surrounding gender, sexuality, race, religion, civil rights, universal suffrage, and much more.”

From the FBI File on Charles Lindbergh (1939-1956)

Some of these collections include: Christian Identity and Far-Right Wing Politics (1923-1910); James Aho Collection (1960-2010); Social Documents Collection (1918-2000); FBI Files on Charles Lindbergh (1939-1956), Ezra Pound (1941-1971), Joseph McCarthy (1942-1974), and the Posse Comitatus (1973-1996); Walter Goldwater Radical Pamphlet Collection (1800-1999); The American Radicalism Collection; British Home Office Defence Regulation 18B Advisory Committee Papers and Registered Papers Regarding British Fascists; British Security Service Personal Files, Right-Wing Extremists; Fascists and Anti-Fascist Booklets; The Hall-Hoag Collection of Dissenting and Extremist Printed Propaganda; Leaflets, Stickers, Posters, and Electoral Ephemera from Fascist and Anti-Fascist Organizations; Searchlight Magazine; and Searchlight Oral Histories Collection.

 


In addition to this fine resource, we have a smaller collection called “Political Extremism” which focuses on twelve case studies. The case studies cover the historical events, political actions, and social movements centers in the United States, United Kingdom, Europe, and Australia from the 1900’s to the 2010’s. They include coverage on such disparate radical and extremist movements as the National Socialist Party of Australia, the Aryan Nations, the Ku Klux Klan, the British Union of Fascists, the UK National Front, the Black Panther Party, the Weather Underground and the Socialist Party USA.

THE BIRTH OF A NATION Poster for 1915 silent film by D.W.Griffith. (From the Marketing Hate module).

 

Each case study has curated primary source content that can be used to teach students how to use primary sources for analyzing social issues. Included is an introductory essay, annotated sources for students to examine and discussion questions linking themes in the case studies to today. The primary sources are written by international experts and presented so they are easily comprehended by students. These primary sources are unique in that they reveal “the internal debates about historical extremist activism and the sensitivities of dealing with radical and extremist actors.” This method sheds light on contemporary issues raised about such movements. In particular, the collection explores “the role of female activists within radical movements, the use of terrorism and political violence within extremist movements, how extremists and radicals use propaganda and marketing techniques to promote their ideas to mainstream audiences, and the effectiveness of state proscription when dealing with such movements.”

Additional information about the collections, archives, and document types can be found here.

SAGE Video Collection: Trial through July 8, 2021

The University Libraries offers a trial of a rich and diverse collection of videos across the social, behavioral, and health sciences.  The SAGE Video Collection is designed to support instruction, learning, and research in colleges and universities.  The subject areas represented in this trial include business & management; counseling & psychotherapy; criminology & criminal justice; education; geography, earth & environmental science; health & social care; leadership; media & communication; nursing; politics & international relations; psychology, social work, and sociology. The videos range from documentaries to in-practice classes, interviews, tutorials, and raw observational footage.

Enjoy exploring and tell us what you think of this resource.  To get started, click here. To let us know what you liked or didn’t like, click here.

Trial Databases- Loeb Classical Library and Niermeyer Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus

We welcome you to test out two databases and provide us with feedback.

The Digital Loeb Classical Library contains more than 500 titles in Greek or Latin with English translations. This online edition is fully searchable and includes options for annotating and extracting text.

J. F. Niermeyer’s Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus provides English, French, and German translations for Medieval Latin terms and concepts with citation examples for context. The online edition is based on the 2002 2nd edition.

Please give it a go, and send Dustin Booher any feedback you have at booher@cua.edu.

Did you knowCUA Libraries is on Facebook and Twitter? Follow us at:

Mullen Library Facebook; Twitter: @CUAlibraries
Religious Studies, Philosophy, and Canon Law Library Facebook; Twitter: @CUATheoPhilLib
CUA Science Libraries Facebook; Twitter: @CUAScienceLib
CUA Architecture & Planning Library Facebook; Twitter: @CUArchLib
CUA Music Library Facebook; Twitter: @CUAMusicLib

Trial Database- Index Religiosus

We invite you to give us feedback on a database we are looking into purchasing: Index Religiosus

The trial for Index Religiosus can be reached here

Index Religiosus is an international bibliography covering Religion, Church History, Canon Law, Old and New Testaments, Sacramentology and Liturgy, influential figures, Art History, Music, Architecture, and Hagiography. It contains over 500,000 book and article citations with links to full-text articles where available.

This database is replacing the print and online versions of the ETL Elenchus bibliographicus
and annual bibliography
from the Revue d’Histoire Ecclesiastique, which will no longer be published.
Please give it a go, and send Dustin Booher any feedback you have at booher@cua.edu.

CUA Libraries is now on Facebook and Twitter. Follow us at:

Mullen Library Facebook; Twitter: @CUAlibraries
Religious Studies, Philosophy, and Canon Law Library Facebook; Twitter: @CUATheoPhilLib
CUA Science Libraries Facebook; Twitter: @CUAScienceLib
CUA Architecture & Planning Library Facebook; Twitter: @CUArchLib
CUA Music Library Facebook; Twitter: @CUAMusicLib

Web of Science now available

Web of Science, a rich electronic resource,  is available through Catholic University of America Libraries.

Image from Thomson Reuters Web of Science

Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.  It provides “Cited Reference Search” and subject searching through both “quick” and “advanced” searches. Our Web of Science subscription includes citations and references for articles in almost 9000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals published from 2002 to the present. Web of Science provides complete bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts, and cited references. Coverage is in the sciences (more than 6000 journals), followed by social sciences (approximately 1800 journals), and arts and humanities (approximately 1100 journals). For impact factor information about specific journals, users are directed to the index “Journal Citation Reports.”

Please find Web of Science from the  CUA University Libraries page:
Go to: Article Databases & More
Go to: Databases by Name and type in Web of Science

Fact sheet for Web of Science
Short tutorials for searching Web of Science

Web of Science trial for CUA begins June 1

Catholic University of America Libraries researchers have a trial of Web of Science to use from June 1, 2012. Image from Thomson Reuters Web of Science

Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science provides “Cited Reference Search” and subject searching through both “quick” and “advanced” searches. Our Web of Science subscription includes citations and references for articles in almost 9000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals published from 2002 to the present. Web of Science provides complete bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts, and cited references. Coverage is in the sciences (more than 6000 journals), followed by social sciences (approximately 1800 journals), and arts and humanities (approximately 1100 journals). For impact factor information about specific journals, users are directed to the index “Journal Citation Reports.”

Please find the CUA trial version of Web of Science from the  CUA University Libraries page:
Go to: Article Databases & More
Go to: Databases by Name and type in Web of Science

Fact sheet for Web of Science
Short tutorials for searching Web of Science

Find more information throughout the trial on the CUA Science Libraries Facebook page.

Library of Latin Texts MARC records now in the catalog

The MARC records for 3,842 titles found in the Library of Latin Texts (Series A and B) have been added to the library catalog.  Special thanks to Kristen Frederickson, Information Processing Librarian, for uploading the records.

You can search the catalog using a title search or a keyword search using ‘Library of Latin Texts’.  Each catalog record contains a link directly to the work in the Library. Most of the works come from the print series, Corpus Christianorum Series Latina and Continuatio Mediaevalis as well as selections from the Teubneriana series.

Alternate access to databases and e-journals

Update: 2:00pm

Everything is working now, you should be able to access our databases and e-journals as normal.

Thank you for your patience!


We are currently experiencing problems with MetaLib and the SFX Link Resolver.

To access our databases please use the Alternative Access to Database Lists. You should be able to access all of our subscription databases that way.

The E-Journal Finder is also affected – please use e-Journals in WRLC (EJTF) to search for journal titles held by the databases. The search will be consortium wide, so pay attention to whether the journal is available at CU and click on the relevant link.

Both of these links can also be found on the University Libraries homepage.

If you have any questions please call 202-319-5070 or Ask A Librarian.